Cardiff City FC

Country Wales Wales
City Cardiff
Founded 1889
Ground Cardiff City Stadium
Nickname The Bluebirds
Captain Sean Morrison
Coach Neil Harris
Football League Championship

Cardiff City Football Club is a Welsh football club based in the city of Cardiff. They currently feature in the English Championship and are the only non-English side to have won any of the three major English competitions.


The club was founded in 1899 as Riverside AFC by Bartley Wilson and in 1900 joined the Cardiff & District League for their maiden competitive season. In 1905 the club bestowed with the City status by King Edward VII and the club was rechristened as Cardiff City in 1908.

Cardiff City soon joined the Southern League Second Division and enjoyed their most successful period in their history in the 1920s, when after reaching the English top flight in the 1921-1922 season, they finished runners-up to Huddersfield Town FC in 1924 in the first division on goal average, reached the FA Cup final in 1925 and 1927 and won the Cup in 1927 by defeating Arsenal in the final.

But in the 1928-1929 season Cardiff City were relegated from the English first division and continued climbing down the ladder in the subsequent years. They managed to return to the Second Division in the 1946-1947 season.

During the 1960s Cardiff City began to feature in European competitions, thanks to their exploits in the Welsh Cup.

Between 1985 and 1993 Cardiff City played outside the English top flight in the second and the third divisions and even in the fourth division.

In 2008 Cardiff City reached the FA Cup final but lost the final to Premier League side Portsmouth.

Cardiff City play their home matches at Cardiff City Stadium and bear the nickname The Bluebirds.


  • Second Division/Championship Champions (1): 2012–13
  • Third Division South/Third Division Champions (1): 1946–47 (South)
  • Fourth Division/Third Division Champions (1): 1992–93
  • FA Cup Champions (1): 1926–27
  • FA Charity Shield Champions (1): 1927
  • Welsh Cup Champions (22): 1911–12, 1919–20, 1921–22, 1922–23, 1926–27, 1927–28, 1929–30, 1955–56, 1958–59, 1963–64, 1964–65, 1966–67, 1967–68, 1968–69, 1969–70, 1970–71, 1972–73, 1973–74, 1975–76, 1987–88, 1991–92, 1992–93

Team Roster

Name Position
Joe Bennett England defender
Jamilu Collins Nigeria defender
James Collins Wales defender
Vontae Daley-Campbell England defender
Ryan Allsop England goalkeeper
Jak Alnwick England goalkeeper
Neil Etheridge Philippines goalkeeper
Leandro Bacuna Netherlands midfielder
Kim Bo-Kyung South Korea midfielder
Rubin Colwill Wales midfielder

Bet Play-Money for Fun