Sheffield Wednesday Football Club is an English football club based in the city of Sheffield in South Yorkshire. They currently feature in the English Football League Championship and have won four League title and three FA Cups in their history.


Sheffield Wednesday are actually one of the oldest professional football clubs in the world. The club was formed as The Wednesday Cricket Club (so named after the day when they played their matches, that is, Wednesday) in 1820 and a footballing section was added on September 4, 1867. The club’s first football match was against The Mechanics on October 19 of the same yar.

Sheffield Wednesday won the League in the 1902-1903 and the 1903-1904 seasons and the FA Cup in 1907. They won the League again in 1928-1929 and won the FA Cup for the third time in 1935.

From the 1950s onwards Sheffield Wednesday failed to sustain their top flight status and were relegated on several occasions. So much so that after getting relegated from the top flight at end of the 1969-1970 season, the club spiraled down to the Third Division for the first time in their history and stayed there for five heavily limping seasons, almost getting relegated to the Fourth Division in 1976. In 1984 however Sheffield Wednesday reached the First Division.

Country England England
City Sheffield
Founded 1867
Ground Hillsborough Stadium
Nickname The Owls
Captain Barry Bannan
Coach Darren Moore

Sheffield Wednesday won the Cromwell Cup in 1868 and turned professional in 1887, five years after the cricket and the football clubs were separated from each other. The club won the FA Cup for the first time in its history in 1896, four years after they were elected to the Football League.

Sheffield Wednesday were in the top division in English football for majority of the 1980s and the 1990s but after that flirted with relegation and promotion.

Sheffield Wednesday play their home matches at the Hillsborough Stadium in Sheffield and bear the nickname The Owls.