Club Atletico Tigre was founded in 1902, in Tigre city, and it has participated in an impressive 23 seasons of the Primera Division. Based in Victoria, in Buenos Aires, the team moved up into the Primera Division after the 2006-07 season, and this will be their first time at the highest level of Argentine football after a period of 27 years.

Before this the team’s stint with the top division was in 1955, which was also their most successful with a 6th place finish amongst 16 teams. They remained in the top division in the years, 1931 till 1933, 1935 to 1942, 1954 till 19958 and then in 1968, 1980 and now 2007.

Country Argentina Argentina
City Victoria
Founded 1902

In the 2004-05 season, the club showed an upward swing following a win in the Primera B Metropolitana, with Ricardo Caruso Lombardi as team manager. In 2006, Diego Cagna took over from Lombardi, and soon took the team into the Argentine Primera in his first season itself. The jump up was a result of their win against Nueva Chicago in a playoff.

Apertura 2007, was the first season for Tigre, who made the most of the opportunity and played impressively. With 10 wins from 19 games, including an impressive 4-1 victory against football giants, River Plate. Argentinos Juniors dashed their dreams of a title win, handing the title to Club Atletico Lanus instead, with Tigre in a satisfactory 2nd position. Having marked their best league finish in history, the club is now a promising team for the coming season. Some prominent former players are Luis Carniglia, Walter Hector Pajon, Bernabe Ferreyra amongst many others.