Newell’s Old Boys is a club based out of Rosario. It was founded in 1903 by ex-students of the only English high school at the time. Named after director and coach, Isaac Newell, the club plays in black and red colours, each taken from the flag of Germany and England as Newell was British while his wife was German.

The team is highly successful at the top level of the Argentine league structure and has also developed a big international following after their Copa Libertadores performances. Located in the Parque Independencia neighbourhood in Rosario, the Newell’s Old Boys stadium has been their home ground since 1911. Known as the El Coloso del Parque or The Colossus of the Park, the stadium can hold 39, 121 people in its recently renovated structure.

Country Argentina Argentina
City Buenos Aires
Founded 1903


The club has won the Primera division 5 times, the Metropolitana in 1974, 1987-88, 1990-91, the Clausura in 1992 and the Apertura in 2004. In 1990-91, there was a dispute over the championship between Old Boys, the 1990 Apertura champions, and Boca Juniors, the 1991 Clausura Champions. To decide the winners, a home and away play-off was scheduled and was won by Old Boys. However, this result was deemed unofficial and although supporters consider it as their 6th title, official records do not show the championship on their lists.

Newell’s Old Boys also won a tournament known as ‘The Little World Cup’, held in 1988. River Plate, Juventus, Real Madrid, Manchester United and AC Milan were part of the tournament. In 1988 and in 1992, the club was part of the Copa Libertadores with astonishing performances in both years that saw them fall short at the final hurdle. Two runners-up medals is all they have to show for their performances.

As a team, many important players have played in their colours and have gone on to bigger things in Europe and at the international level.

• Gabriel Batistuta• Abel Balbo• Jorge Valdano• Gustavo Dezotti• Roberto Sensini• Walter Samuel• Diego Armando Maradona• Gabriel Heinze• Lionel Messi (youth team)• Ariel Ortega

The club’s president, manager and owner is Eduardo J. López and its coach is Fernando Gamboa.