Independiente are a popular football team based out of the Avellaneda region of greater Buenos Aires. They are the third largest team behind River Plate and Boca Juniors based on the number of league titles. They have over 15 international titles to show for their exploits over the years.

The club stadium is only a couple of 100 metres away from Racing Club’s stadium, their nemesis over many years.

Country Argentina Argentina
City Buenos Aires
Founded 1905


Independiente have no dearth of titles with 14 league championships and 15 international trophies increasing the dazzling beauty of their trophy room. During the amateur era, the team won two titles and the 14 followed in the professional era.

The team has won the Copa Libertadores title a massive 7 times including two wins at the Intercontinental Cup. In addition to these, Independiente also boasts of 2 SuperCopa titles in 1994 and 1995, one Recopa title in 1995 and three Copa Inetamericana titles in 1973, 1974 and 1975. Their incredible success can be attributed to any of the great stars who have adorned the Independiente colours.

• Manuel Seoane• Arsenio Pastor Erico• Ruben Marino Navarro• Ricardo Bochini• Daniel Bertoni• Jorge Burruchaga• Diego Forlan• Esteban Cambiasso