Genoa CFC

Sport Soccer
Country Italy Italy
Home town Genova
Founding year 1893
Leagues Serie A
Website www.genoacf...

Genoa Cricket and Football Club, simply known as Genoa, is an Italian football club based in the city of Genoa. Genoa currently feature in the Italian Serie A and have won the Italian league championship nine times but they have however failed to gain much success in recent years.

The club was founded on September 7,1893 as Genoa Cricket & Athletic Club and on April 10,1897 the footballing fraction of the club was started by James Richardson Spensley and the club became one of the oldest in Italian football at the time.

Genoa played in the first Italian league championship in 1898 and won it too and next season competed in the championship under the name Genoa Cricket & Football Club. They won the Italian league title in 1899, 1900, 1902, 1903 and 1904.

Genoa became the first Italian football team to play an international match when they played against French side FVC nice in France on April 1903 and won the Italian league championship in 1904.

The club further won the Italian football championship in 1914-1915, 1922-1923 and 1923-1924. The club won its first Coppa Italia in the 1936-1937 season.

Genoa then became a “yo-yo” club as they juggled between the Italian Serie A and the Italian Serie B after the 1960s. Genoa got relegated from the Italian Serie A at the end of the 1994-1995 season and even played Serie C1 football in the subsequent years.

Genoa returned to the Italian top flight for the 2007-2008 season and finished 10th in the Serie A.

Genoa play their home matches at the Stadio Luigi Ferraris, which can host 36,536 people. They have been playing at the stadium since 1911 and since 1946 have been sharing their ground with local rivals Sampdoria.

Genoa bear the nickname I Rossiblu(the red-blues), Il Grifone (the griffin) and Il VEcchio balordo(the Old Fool).

Genoa foster massive and fierce rivalry with local rivals Sampdoria.

Some of the club’s major achievments are:-9 Italian Football Championship/Serie A-1 Coppa Italia

Show more less

Team Stats

Results within Serie A
Average goals per game

Member Activity

mr Sporter

mr Sporter bet 105 credits @ 8.74 on Genoa CFC to win against Atalanta BC -


FB1 bet 87 credits @ 1.59 on Juventus to win against Genoa CFC -

mr Sporter

mr Sporter bet 138 credits @ 2.35 on Genoa CFC to win against Sassuolo -

Match Results

AS Roma

AS Roma won a game against Genoa (3 - 1) in the Serie A -

0 loves and 1 hate
Hellas Verona

Hellas Verona won a game against Genoa (2 - 1) in the Serie A -


Genoa won a game against Sassuolo (2 - 1) in the Serie A -

Inter Milan

Inter Milan won a game against Genoa (4 - 0) in the Serie A -

Latest Articles

Soccer article sidebar

Sampdoria v Genoa Preview & Prediction - Could See Another Hard-Fought Draw

This Sunday sees the 98th Derby della Lanterna take place between city rivals Sampdoria and Genoa. Th Continue reading

Allegri: AC Milan Criticism Has Been Harsh

Allegri: AC Milan Criticism Has Been Harsh

Under-fire AC Milan boss Max Allegri insists his side’s performances deserve more credit following criticism this term and Saturday’s 1-0 victory over Genoa in Serie A.Stephan El Shaarawy scored the winner to ensure Milan’s league run of the three games without a win came to a close and eased the pressure on Allegri, who saw his side lose 1-0 to Ma... Continue reading

Soccer article sidebar

Hernan Crespo: I Am Not Leaving Genoa

Genoa striker Hernan Crespo has dismissed all reports linking him with a move away from the club.Crespo Continue reading

Soccer article sidebar

Genoa vs. Valencia: Europa League Preview

A handful of games that still have something riding on them in the Europa League on Thursday and the standout fixture is in Italy where Genoa host Valencia.Genoa know that a win is almost certainly required if they are to progress, Valencia sit top and a point will do, but they look distinctly ordinary to me and the La Liga side should gain at leas... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Sandro Sene Aníbal Embaló defender
Antonio Barreca defender
Davide Biraschi defender
Antonio Candela defender
Luigi Carillo defender
Domenico Criscito defender
Marcos Curado defender
Sebastian De Maio defender
Samuel Delli Carri defender
Jawad El Yamiq defender
Matteo Franchetti defender
Edoardo Goldaniga defender
Sebastián Gorga Nogueira defender
Koray Günter defender
Mario Ierardi defender
Paweł Jaroszyński defender
Ivan Lakićević defender
Lisandro Ezequiel López defender
Giacomo Lucarini defender
Fallou Njie defender
Paolo Parente defender
Giuseppe Pezzella defender
Nicholas Rizzo defender
Cristian Gabriel Romero defender
Paolo Scannapieco defender
Rômulo Souza Orestes Caldeira defender
Massimo Tazzer defender
Cristian Zapata defender
Raul Jose Asencio Moraes forward
Mattia Destro forward
Andrea Favilli forward
Paolo Ghiglione forward
Christian Kouamé forward
Gianluca Lapadula forward
Goran Pandev forward
Andrea Pinamonti forward
Arnaldo Antonio Sanabria Ayala forward
Jandrei Chitolina Carniel goalkeeper
Federico Marchetti goalkeeper
Mattia Perin goalkeeper
Armando Prisco goalkeeper
Ionuț Andrei Radu goalkeeper
Alessio Rollandi goalkeeper
Alessandro Russo goalkeeper
Daniele Sommariva goalkeeper
Rok Vodišek goalkeeper
Moro Alhassan midfielder
Valon Behrami midfielder
Petar Brlek midfielder
Lorenzo Callegari midfielder
Giacomo Calò midfielder
Francesco Cassata midfielder
Mattia Cella midfielder
Francesco Corsinelli midfielder
Alberto Facundo Costa midfielder
Iago Falque Silva midfielder
Giannis Fetfatzidis midfielder
Andrea Gulli midfielder
Sinan Gümüs midfielder
Oscar Hiljemark midfielder
Lukas Lerager midfielder
Stephane Omeonga midfielder
Marko Pajač midfielder
Alessandro Quaini midfielder
Ivan Radovanovic midfielder
Sandro Ranieri Guimaraes Cordeiro midfielder
Simone Ricozzi midfielder
Nicolò Rovella midfielder
Riccardo Saponara midfielder
András Schafer midfielder
Lasse Schøne midfielder
Stefano Sturaro midfielder
Luca Zanimacchia midfielder

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
Mediocre team 1