Sport Club Internacional

Sport Soccer
Country Brazil Brazil
Home town Porto Alegre
Founding year 1909
Leagues Campeonato Brasileiro Serie A

Based out of Porto Alegre, in the state of Rio Grande do Sul, comes Sport Club Internacional. Inter has a major rivalry with Gremio and the matches result in enthralling fixtures without a dull moment. The team’s home stadium is the largest in Southern Brazil. The Estadio Beira-Rio, a 56,000 seater stadium has been given the nickname, “Giant from the River Bank” due to its enormous size and proximity to the Guaiba River.

Internacional have three major international trophies to their name that include the 2006 Copa Libertadores which was soon followed by the Club World Cup win over a star-studded FC Barcelona in 2006. In 2007, Internacional won the Recopa Sudamericana.

At the national level, Inter have won the Brazilian Serie A three times, in 1975, 1976 and in 1979 where their last victory involved an unbeaten run through the entire season. Inter won the 1992 edition of the Brazilian Cup while the state championships have been bagged a mammoth 38 times. Barring these major titles, Inter has many smaller, less significant titles which, nonetheless, adorn their trophy cabinet. These include the Joan Gamper Trophy from 1982, the Kirin Ciup in 1984, Eurovoetbal in 2006, the Dubai Cup in 2008 and many more.

there has never been a dearth of strong, able players for the Internacional where the likes of Aleandre Pato, Branco, Brito, Carpegiani, Dunga, Falcao, Goncalves, Gilmar, Gerson, Iarley, Jair, Lucio and Nena have played. the list is endless and goes onto include Taffarel, Washington and Valdomiro as well. Amongst the international talent to have played at the club, Andres D’Alessandro, Carlos Gamarra, Diego Gavilan and Ruben Paz have also played for the side.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by Anjali Nambissan
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

Top Five Matches of the Weekend (28/09 – 28/09)

Top Five Matches of the Weekend (28/09 – 28/09)

As the European football season rumbles on, SportsPundit looks forward to five of the biggest matches that will be played out over this weekend.Tot Continue reading

The Complete 2012-13 EPL Preview

The Complete 2012-13 EPL Preview

Manchester City were crowned champions on a dramatic final day last term, so what does the new season have in store for us, with Manchester United, Arsenal and Chelsea all spending big in the summer?.Manchester CityArrivals: Jack Rodwell (Everton)Departures: Owen Hargreaves (released)Last season; Champions2011-12 topscorer; Sergio Aguero - 23Boss R... Continue reading

From Podolski To Kagawa: Top 10 EPL Transfers

From Podolski To Kagawa: Top 10 EPL Transfers

The new English Premier League season is fast approaching, and there’s the typical anticipation following an off-season full of transfer activity with wannabe title contenders Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool thick among the action.Here’s Sports Pundit’s top 10 off-season transfers;10. Olivier Giroud - Montpellier to Arsenal, 15mThe 25-year-old strik... Continue reading

  1. mr Sporter

    mr Sporter Pretty good article.

    almost 7 years ago

The Big English Off-Season Moves Of 2012

The Big English Off-Season Moves Of 2012

Robin van Persie and Luka Modric have hogged the headlines this off-season but they’ve not moved, so Sports Pundit has taken five to look at the big transfers around the Premier League.The Title ContendersManchester CityArrivals: NoneDepartures: Owen Hargreaves (released)The Sky Blues haven’t done much business this off-season but boss Roberto Manc... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Rafael Sobis forward
Helder Silva defender
Bruno Vieira defender
Joao Paulo midfielder
Marcelo Lomba goalkeeper
Wellington Silva defender
Danilo Fernandes goalkeeper
Jesus Datolo midfielder
Andres D’Alessandro midfielder
Ronaldo Alves defender

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
image description