Sport Soccer
Country Belgium Belgium
Home town Charleroi
Founding year 1904
Leagues Jupiler League

R. Charleroi S.C. is a Belgian football club based in Charleroi, Hainaut. They currently feature in the Belgian first division and have been playing in the top flight since the 1985-1986 season.

Charleroi were established in 1904 and 20 years later they were qualified for the second division. In 1929 the prefix Royale was added to their name. In 1949 they finished fourth in the league but after that they became a sort of yo-yo club.

In 1974 when the Belgian first division was ecpanded to 20 teams and Charleroi were chosen to play at that level. But they suffered relegation in 1980 and returned to the top flight only after five years. Since then, though, Charleroi have been featuring in the first division and achieved their best ever fourth place in 1994.

Charleroi play their home matches at the Stade du Pays de Charleroi that can accomodate 24,891 spectators. They bear the nicknames “The Zebras”.

Latest Articles

Soccer article sidebar

Standard Liege vs. Feyenoord: Europa League Betting Preview

Feyenoord have dropped just two points in the Eredivise since late September and can confirm their place in the Europa League knockout stage with victory in Liege on Thursday.The Rotterdam club make the short trip across the border having won seven of their previous eight games domestically and they are climbing the standings thanks to a rock solid... Continue reading

Soccer article sidebar

French Ligue 1 Season Preview

The new French Ligue 1 campaign begins later today, so here’s Sports Pundit’s season preview as Marseille defend their title and the likes of Lyon, Bordeaux, PSG and Monaco try to re-claim the crown.Olympique Marseille>Last Season; Champions’‘Topscorer; Mamadou Niang (18)'’Most assists; Lucho Gonzalez (12)It’s hard to know what to make of French... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Modou Diagne defender
Gjoko Zajkov defender
Adama Niane forward
Nicolas Penneteau goalkeeper
Ali Gholizadeh midfielder

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post