Derby County FC

Sport Soccer
Country England England
Home town Derby
Founding year 1884
Leagues Football League Championship

Derby County are an English football club based in the city of Derby in Derbyshire in the English Midlands. They are traditionally a small club but with passionate following and featured in the Barclays Premier League in the 2007-2008 season but got relegated and shall play Championship football in 2008-2009.

The club was formed in 1884 and actually originated from the Derbyshire County Cricket Club. They were one of the founding members of The Football League in 1888 and in 1891 took Derby Midland FC under their wings.

On April 16,1898 Derby County appeared in their first ever FA Cup final but lost 3-1 to Crystal Palace. They were losing finalists again in 1899 and 1903. But it was in 1967 that Derby reached their peak in terms of footballing success.

Under manager Brain Clough, Derby won their first ever Football League Championship in 1972. The following season they reached the semi-finals of the European Cup (now called the UEFA Champions League).Derby again won the domestic title in 1974-1975 under Dave Mackay.

But Derby have deteriorated since then although they have achieved modest success occasionally. These days they play their football mostly in the lower tiers of English football. They were promoted to the Premiership at the end of the 2006-2007 season but exhibited a horrendous performance in the English topflight and have been confirmed relegated to the Championship.

Derby County play their home matches at the 33,597 seater Pride Park stadium in Midlands and are managed by Paul Jewell. Derby bear the nickname the Rams.

Best results:

  • First Division Champions 1972 and 1975
  • Second Division Champions 1912, 1915, 1969, 1987
  • FA Cup winners 1946

Show more less

Match Results


Burnley won a game against Derby County (2 - 1) in the Football League Championship -

Derby County won a game against Doncaster Rovers (3 - 0) in the Football League Championship -

Derby County won a game against Blackpool (1 - 0) in the Football League Championship -

Derby County won a game against Watford (1 - 0) in the Football League Championship -

Latest Articles

Chelsea v Manchester United live & preview EPL 2015-16

Chelsea v Manchester United live & preview EPL 2015-16

On Sunday, February 7, Chelsea FC hosts Manchester United FC in an English Premier League week 25 fixture Continue reading

Soccer article sidebar

Weekend Developments From Europe's Top Leagues

Real Madrid moved further clear in Spain’s La Liga as Barcelona dropped more points, while it’s tight at the top in Italy and Germany Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Mario Lopez Good article...

    almost 8 years ago

Soccer article sidebar

English Premier League Transfers: 2011 Summer

It’s almost that time of the year when contracts expire and the transfer frenzy begins, so here’s what’s been happening in England’s Premier League and what the big clubs need to do before the window closes.Manchester UnitedSignings: David De Gea (Atletico Madrid - €20m), Phil Jones (Blackburn – £16.5m), Ashley Young (Aston Villa - Undisclosed)Depa... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    danny i want Manchester united to buy Ronalda back to old tr afford and i want Manchester united phone number

    over 8 years ago

Soccer article sidebar

Five Must-See Football Matches This Weekend

The romance of the English FA Cup returns this weekend with a round of fixtures, while there’s plenty of excitement in leagues all around the continent Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Curtis Davies defender
Craig Forsyth defender
Michael Keane defender
Scott Malone defender
Daniel Sanchez Ayala defender
Andre Wisdom defender
Martyn Waghorn forward
Scott Carson goalkeeper
Ben Hamer goalkeeper
Ikechi Anya midfielder
Krystian Bielik midfielder
Matt Clarke midfielder
Tom Huddlestone midfielder
Florian Jozefzoon midfielder
Tom Lawrence midfielder
Wayne Rooney midfielder
George Thorne midfielder

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post