Al Rayyan is a Qatari football club based in Al Rayyan who plays in the Qatari Stars League.


Al Rayyan was founded in 1967, known as Old Al Rayyan as an amateur team.

The club participated in the first Qatari league in 1972-93. The club were champions in 1975-96 and 1977-78. THey would three titles in the 1980s and another two in the 1990s.

The club has won some other silverware, with six Emir of Qatar Cup titles, including lifting the trophy in 2010, 2011 and 2013.

Country Qatar Qatar
City Al Rayyan
Founded 1967
Ground Ahmad bin Ali Stadium
Nickname The Lions
Coach Leonardo Jardim

It has been a lean period since their 1994-95 triumph, winning the 2015-16 QSL title.