The Celtic Football Club, commonly known as Celtic or Glasgow Celtic, is a Scottish football club based in the city of Glasgow. They are one of the two most famous and successful Scottish clubs and the reigning Scottish champions.


Celtic were established on November 6,1887 at a meeting in St. Mary’s Church Hall on East Rose Street by an Irish Marist brother (Brother Walfrid). On May 28, 1888 they played their first official match against Rangers. Celtic have had a history of being associated with the people of Ireland and Scots of Irish extraction.

Celtic have been featuring in European competitions too. They reached the final of the UEFA Cup in 2003 and won the European Cup back in 1967 when they became the British team to win the European Cup. Celtic reached the final of the same competition in the 1969-1970 season.

Stadium, Nicknames & Rivals

Celtic play their home matches at Celtic Park that can house 60,832 spectators. They bear the nicknames the Bhoys, the Celts and the Hoops.

Country Scotland Scotland
City Glasgow
Founded 1888
Ground Celtic Park
Nickname The
Coach Vacant

Celtic won their first Scottish championship in 1893 and have been winning the national titles consistently since then. So far they have won 53 Scottish league titles and a record 41 Scottish Cups.

Celtic foster a massive rivalry with their city mates Rangers and play the Old Firm derby with Rangers.


  • 53 Scottish League Championships
  • 41 Scottish Cup (record)
  • 21 Scottish League Cup
  • European Cup winners (1): 1966-67
  • UEFA Cup runners-up: 2002-03