Toulouse Football Club is a French football club based in the city of Toulouse, Haute-Garonne. They currently feature in the French Ligue 1.


Toulouse was established in 1937 as Toulouse Football Club but in 1967 sold their players and location in the French top flight to Red Star Paris. The club was re-founded on May 25, 1970, as Union Sportive Toulouse and featured the junior players Gascogne and ACE Mermoz-Bonnefoy.

In 1977 they renamed themselves as the Toulouse Football Club and in 1982 gained promotion to the first division in the French League. In 1984 they even played in the UEFA Cup. They finished third in the 1986-1987 season and this remains their best finish in the league standings.

In 2001, they almost lost their professional status. But in the next two seasons, they returned to the French Ligue 1 and even finished third in 2006-07, before finishing fourth in 2008-09 with Andre-Pierre Gignac scoring plenty of goals.

Toulouse memorably avoided relegation on the final day of the 2015-16 season, while they won the promotion/relegation playoff in 2018, before going down in 2019-20.

Country France France
City Toulouse
Founded 1933
Ground Stadium de Toulouse
Nickname Le Téfécé, Les Violets, Le Tef, Les Pitchouns
Captain Brecht Dejaegere
Coach Philippe Montanier

A period of decline followed as the club was relegated to D2 by 1994. They struggled to resurface in the 1990s and played either in D1 or D2.

Toulouse regained their top-flight status by winning Ligue 2 in 2021-22 under Philippe Montanier, who also led the side to Coupe de France glory in 2023 with a 5-1 final victory over Nantes for their first-ever piece of major silverware.

Stadium & Nickname

Toulouse play its home matches at the Stadium de Toulouse, which can accommodate 33,151 spectators. The club bears the nicknames TFC, Le Tef, Le Tefece, and Les Violets.


The cub wears violet in reference to the City of Toulouse’s nickname, ‘La Cite de Violette’ – The City of Violets.


  • 2022–23- Coupe de France Winners
  • 1981–82, 2002–03, 2021–22- Ligue 2Winners