West Bromwich Albion Football Club, commonly known simple as West Bromwich Albion or West Brom, is an English football club based in West Browmich in the West Midlands. They currently feature in the English Championship and were one of the founding members of the Football League in 1888.


West Brom were established in 1878 as West Bromwich Strollers by workers from George Salter’s Spring Works in West Browmich. They adopted the name West Bromwich Albion in 1880 and became the first team to embrace the Albion suffix.

But West Brom recovered from this set-back and won the Football League title in 1919-1920 for their only time in their history. West Brom have spent most of their history in top tier English football and have won the FA Cup on five occasions. They won the Football League Cup in 1966.

Since the 1980s though West Brom have been sinking into decline and spent between 1966 and 2002 outside the top flight. West Brom played Premier League football club for the first time in the 2002-2003 season and shall feature in the Premiership for the fourth time in the 2008-2009 season.

Country England England
City West Bromwich
Founded 1878
Ground The Hawthorns
Nickname The Baggies
Captain Jake Cyril Livermore
Coach Carlos Corberan
Website www.wbafc.co.uk

West Brom were one of the founding members of the Football League in 1888 and won the FA Cup that year. They repeated their FA Cup success in 1892 but were relegated to Division Two in 1900-1901.

West Brom play their home matches at the Hawthorns which has a capacity of 28,003. The club bears the nickname Albion, the Baggies and the Throstles.


  • First Division / Premier League (1) Champions: 1919–20
  • Second Division / Football League Championship (3) Champions: 1901–02, 1910–11, 2007–08
  • FA Cup (5) Winners: 1888, 1892, 1931, 1954, 1968
  • League Cup (1) Winners: 1966
  • FA Charity Shield (2) Winners: 1920, 1954 (shared)