Türkiyemspor Berlin

Country Germany Germany
City Berlin
Founded 1978
Website tuerkiyemspor.info

Türkiyemspor Berlin is a professional German association football club based in Berlin, Germany. Founded in 1978 as a loose association of young aspiring football players playing as Kreuzberg Gencler Birligi (Kruzberg Youth Union), the club was formally registered in 1983 by the name of BFC Izmirspor. The club was named for the city of Izmir situated in Turkey, where most of the club members had roots.

Nicknamed as Turkiyem, the club play their home matches at the Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark ground which has a seating capacity of 20,000 spectators. The Chairman of the club is Celal Bingol, with Marco Gebhardt being the manager of the club. The first season of this club was played in C-class amateur league in 1983-84, with the team capturing the division title and enjoying tremendous success. This led to their promotion to fourth division in the Landesliga Berlin in 1986, which was followed by incline to the third division Amateur Oberliga Berlin the next season. The club was even supported by small businesses which were within the Turkish immigrant community in Berlin throughout its history and it was in 1987 when the team decided to change their name to Türkiyemspor Berlin to broaden their appeal.

The team won the Paul Rusch Cups, which is at present known as the Berlin Cup, from 1989 to 1991 and even made cup final appearances in 1988, 1993 and in 1995. The victory made them get entrance to the DFB-Pokal competition. In 1990-91, the team suffered a devastating blow when they eventually missed a chance for getting promotion to the 2. Fußball-Bundesliga as they were sanctioned for using an ineligible player.

Major Highlights

The team won the Verbandsliga Berlin (V) in 2000. Prior to this, they were the Berliner Landespokal winners in 1988, 1990 and in 1991.

Bet Play-Money for Fun