C.F. Monterrey, aka the Club de Futbol Monterrey is a professional Mexican football club from Monterrey, Nuevo Leon. The team is the present champion team of the CONCACAF Champions League. It got founded on 28th June 1945 and is known as the oldest active team in the professional division from the north side of Mexico. The Chairman of the club is Jorge Urdiales and Victor Manuel Vucetich is the manager of the club.

Owned by FEMSA, one of the largest bottling companies in Latin America, Monterrey team home games are exclusively played in the Estadio Tecnologico in Monterrey. The stadium can seat 32,854 spectators. This stadium is shared with the college football team of Borregos Salvajes from Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education.

Country Mexico Mexico
City Monterrey
Founded 1945
Website rayados.com

In recent years, this team has enjoyed tremendous success, with four league title winners in 1986, 2003, 2009 and in 2010. They even won the Copa Mexico title in 1991 and the CONCACAF Champions League in 2011 and in 2012. Due to the home uniform (striped blue uniform), the team is commonly known by the name of Rayados. Other nicknames given to this team is La Pandilla (The Gang) and Albiazules (White and Blue). Their oldest rival team is the Tigres of Autonomous University of Nuevo Leon, against whom the local derby match is played each season.

Some of the current squad men of the team include Jonathan Orozco, Ricardo Osorio, Othoniel Arce, Abraham Dario Carreno, Jose Maria Basanta, Luis Madrigal and Cesar Delgado amongst others.

Major Highlights

The team won the CONCACAF Cup winners cup once in 1993 and the CONCACAF Champions League twice in 2010-11 and in 2011-12.

They won the Primera Division de Mexico four times and the Segunda Division de Mexico twice, in 1956 and in 1960. Other than that, in 1956, they won the Second Division Super Cup. In 1991, the team were the winners of the Copa Mexico and runner up in 1964 and in 1969.