The Senegal national football team is nicknamed as the Lions of Teranga. The captain of the team is Mamadou Niang with Amara Traore being the coach of the team.

This is a professional national team of Senegal and is entirely controlled by the Federation Senegalaise de Football. Their first World Cup was in 2002, which caused a huge upset when they defeated world and European champions, France by 1-0 in the opening game.

Later on the team made it to the quarterfinals of the World Cup, beating Sweden in round 2, before they lost to Turkey in the quarter finals. In 2006, the team disappointed their fans when they failed to qualify for the FIFA World Cup in 2006. They finished second in their group after losing to Togo by 3-1.

Senegal team won the Amilcar Cabral Cup, which is a regional soccer tournament for the West African Nations. They won eight times, more than any other country, with second place taken by Guinea with five titles.

Country Senegal Senegal
City Dakar
Founded 1960

Their first appearance in the African Nations Cup was in 1965, when the team post finishing second in the group, lost to Ivory Coast by 1-0, finishing in the fourth place. In 1990, at the African Nations Cup, Senegal team finished in the fourth place again. After two years, in 1992, they hosted the African Nations Cup, where, after qualifying for the quarter finals by coming in the second place in their group. They lost by 1-0 to Cameroon in the quarter finals. Moreover, their best finish was in the African Nations Cup in 2002, when they lost to Cameroon on penalties after drawing 0-0.