The Croatia national football team represents Croatia and the team is controlled by the Croatian Football Federation, which is the governing body for football in the country. The team has been managed by former player, Slaven Bilic since 2006.

Between 1940 and 1944, a FIFA recognized national side had represented Banovina of Croatia and the Independent State of Croatia in 19 friendly matches. As Croatia became a constituent federal republic of SFR Yugoslavia in 1945, this team was dissolved and between 1945 and 1990, Croatia did not field a separate team for matches and Croatian players played this time for the Yugoslavia national football team.

The modern Croatian team got formed in 1990, prior to Croatia’s independence from Yugoslavia. By 1993, the team gained membership in FIFA and in UEFA. In 1996, the team played their first competitive match in the successful qualifying campaign for UEFA Euro, with their first appearance at a major match. In 1998, the team made their FIFA World Cup debut, finishing in the third place and having top scorer as well, Davor Suker. Since the team has become eligible to compete in the international matches, they missed only one World Cup other than one European Championship.

Country Croatia Croatia
City Zagreb
Founded 1912

The head coach of this team at present is Slaven Bilic, with Aljosa Asanovic, Nikola Jurcevic and Marijan Mrmic being the assistant coaches. The captain of the team is Darijo Srna with the most caps made by Dario Simic (100) and the top scorer being Davor Suker (45).

Most of the home matches are played in Zagreb at the Maksimir Stadium, with some games being played in Split at the Poljud Stadium and in Rijeka at Stadion Kantrida stadium other than the Stadion Gradski vrt in Osijek.

Major Highlights

The team was named as the Best Mover of the year in FIFA in 1994 and in 1998, the time when the team was the only team to have won the award more than once.

The team of Croatia was placed in the third place in 1998 FIFA World Cup. They were the winners of the King Hassan II tournament in 1996 and the Korean Cup in 1999.

Other than that, Croatia national football team won the title of the Best Mover of the year award in 1994 and in 1998.