SV Wehen

Sport Soccer
Country Germany Germany
Home town Wiesbaden, Hesse
Founding year 1926
Website svwehen-wiesbaden...

SV Wehen is also named as SV Wehen Wiesbaden and this is a German association football club having their base in Wiesbaden, Hesse. The full name given to this team is SV Wehen 1926 Taunusstein e.V. The home ground of this team is BRITA-Arena, which has a seating capacity of 13,500 seats. The Chairman of the team is Gino Lettieri.

This club got founded under the name of SV Wehen 1926 – Taunusstein in 1926 and was eventually disbanded in 1933 by the Nazi Government. However, the football department was entirely maintained by playing occasional friendly matches till 1939. This club was re-established in 1946 post World War II. The team operated as both first and reserve teams right from the beginning, with their first team competing regularly in the local amateur division, the B-Klasse Wiesbaden team. The first youth team of this club got established in 1955, subsequently using their own talented young players for strengthening their team. By mid 1970s, the youth department got split in ten teams with over 150 players and a women’s team too, that got established in 1984.

SV Wehen competed between fourth and sixth divisions of German football for few decades, prior to being promoted to the third division in the late 1980s. SV Wehen managed to establish themselves to the third division and by 2000’s, they established themselves as one of the top teams in the Regionalliga Sud. However, the team missed promotion to the Second Bundesliga finishing in the third place in both 2005 and in 2006.

Finally, by 2007, the team achieved success, getting promoted to the Second Bundesliga after they finished first in the Regionalliga Sud. This team lasted for two seasons in the second division of Germany prior to being relegated again, to the new 3rd Liga.

Major Achievements

Till date, the team has won various awards and honors. These include the Landesliga Hessen-Mitte (IV) championship in 1989, the Oberliga Hessen (IV) championship in 1997 and the Regionalliga Sud championship in 2007. Other than that, the team even won the Hesse Cup in 1988, 1996, 2000 and in 2011. They were the runner up team of this cup in 1992, 2001 and in 2003.

Latest Articles

Soccer article sidebar

German Bundesliga Club-by-Club 2011-12 Guide

The new German Bundesliga kicks off on Friday August 5 so with less than a week to spare it’s time to analyse the challengers, contenders and strugglers for the upcoming campaign.Borussia Dortmund are the reigning champions and have retained most of their squad except for Nuri Sahin who has left for Real Madrid, while Bayern Munich have Jupp Heynck... Continue reading

Soccer article sidebar

German Bundesliga Transfers: 2011 Summer

It’s that time of the year when contracts expire and the transfer frenzy begins, so here’s what’s been happening in Germany’s Bundesliga and what the big clubs need to do before the window closes.Borussia DortmundSignings: Ivan Perisic (Club Brugge - €5.5m), Chris Lowe (Chemnitz - €200k), Ilkay Gundogan (FC Nurnberg - €4m)Departures: Nuri Sahin (Re... Continue reading

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post