FC Lokomotive Leipzig or 1. FC Lokomotive Leipzig is a professional German football club having its base in Leipzig, Saxony. It’s also familiar to most of the country’s football fans as the historic side, VfB Leipzig, which were the first national champions of Germany. At present, this club plays in the fifth tier of the German football league system.

Also known as 1. Fußballclub Lokomotive Leipzig e.V., this club is nicknamed as Loksche. Its home ground is Bruno-Plache-Stadion, which is situated in Red Bull Arena that has a seating capacity of 15,600 spectators. The Chairman of this team is Steffen Kubald, with Willi Kronhardt being the coach of the team.

Country Germany Germany
City Saxony
Founded 1893
Website lok-leipzig.com

Major Achievements

VfB Leipzig was the German champions in 1903 and finalist in the uncontested 1904 championship match in 1906 and in 1913. This team won the Central German title in 1903, 1904, 1906, 1907, 1910, 1911, 1913, 1918, 1920, 1925 and in 1927. In 1936, they won the German Cup and were the East German vice-champions in 1967, in 1986 and in 1988.

They won the East German Cup in 1957, 1976, 1981, 1986 and in 1987. Moreover in 1966, they were the UEFA Intertoto Cup Champions and the UEFA Cup semi finalist in 1974.