The Tunisia national football team is a professional national team of Tunisia, controlled by the Federation Tunisienne de Football.

Nicknamed as Les Aigles de Carthage (The Eagles of Carthage), this team has also qualified for four FIFA World Cups, with their first one being in 1978. In 1978, the team created history in Argentina by becoming the first African side to have won a World Cup match, defeating Mexico by 3-1. This team has qualified for three tournaments consecutively, in 1998, 2002 and in 2006. Tunisia national team is the only African team to have appeared at both 2002 and 2006 tournaments.

Moreover, they have won the Africa Cup of Nations in 2004. The present squad for the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations includes Moez Ben Cherifia, Aymen Mathlouthi, Bilel Ifa, Ammar Jemal and Hocine Ragued amongst others.

Tunisia even led Group B in the third round of qualifications, thus gaining two draws against Nigeria, with two victories over Kenya. However, they lost their final match in the group with 1-0 to Mozambique, while Nigeria team beat Kenya team with 3-2 to top the group by a single point.

Country Tunisia Tunisia
City El Menzah
Founded 1957

In 2006, this team made a draw of 2-2 against Saudi Arabia, losing their second match to Spain by 3-1 and also to Ukraine by 1-0, thus ending their 2006 World Cup.