Olympique Lyonnais, commonly known as Lyonnais or Lyon, is a French football club based in Lyon. The club currently features in the French Ligue 1 and have won seven successive French Ligue 1 titles from 2002 to 2008, the only French club to do so.

The club was formed as Lyon Olympique Universitaire in 1899 but was nationally established on August 3,1950. The club’s early history is very much sketchy as historians and fans differ as to what constituted the original club. But one thing is clear: the club wasn’t successful before the World War II.

Although Lyon won some silverware in the 1960s and 1960s, their true success began only in the late 1980s when Jean-Michel Aulas tookover the club in 1987 and he had long term ambition if taking the club to a whole new level. He brought several new and well known personnel such as Raymond Domench, Jean Tigana, Luis Fernandez and Michel Platini and gradually the club started to climb up the table in te French Ligue 1.

Country France France
City Lyon
Founded 1950
Ground Groupama Stadium
Nickname Les Gones
Captain Memphis Depay
Coach Rudi Garcia
Website www.olweb.fr

Lyon finished second in the 2000-2001 but have won every single French Ligue 1 campaign since then and have won with conviction. They are only club in France to have achieved the feat of seven consecutive French league titles. Lyon though have astonishingly failed in Europe as they have never moved beyond the quarter-finals of the UEFA Champions League.

Olumpique Lyonnais play their home matches at Stade Gerland in Lyon, which can accommodate 41,044. The club bears the nicknames Les Gones,Lyon and OL.

Best results:

  • 6 Ligue 1 Championships
  • 6 Trophee des Champions
  • 3 French Cup victories