Norwich City is an English football club based in the city of Norwich, Norfolk. They currently feature in the English Championship.


Norwich City was formed on June 17, 1902 by a group of friends after a meeting at the Criterion Café in Norwich. They were elected to play in the Southern League in 1905 but went into voluntary liquidation in December 1917 but were reformed in February 1919 and joined the Third Division for the 1920-1921 season but in the following seasons could play only in the lower divisions of the English league pyramid.

Norwich City returned to the Premiership for the 2004-2005 season but went down after just one season back in the English top flight. The club have yoyoed between the top two divisions in recent times, winning the 2018-2019 Championship season under their first-ever non-British manager Daniel Farke to earn promotion to the Premier League. The club was relegated the following season, before returning straight back up under Farke as Championship champions. They have had a yo-yo existence recently.

Country England England
City Norwich, Norfolk
Founded 1902
Ground Carrow Road
Nickname The Canaries
Captain Grant Hanley
Coach David Wagner

Norwich City however won the League Cup in 1962 and then again to 1985. Norwich City were one of the founding members of the English Premier League in 1992 and played in the Premiership for the first three seasons before getting relegated.


  • Second Division/Championship Winners (5): 1971–72, 1985–86, 2003–04, 2018–19, 2020-21
  • Third Division/League One Winners (2): 1933–34 (South), 2009–10
  • League Cup Winners (2): 1962, 1985