AC Ajaccio

Sport Soccer
Country France France
Home town Ajaccio
Founding year 1910

Based in the city of Ajaccio, on the island of Corsica, Athletic Club Ajaccio or AC Ajaccio is a professional football club from France. The club was founded in 1909-10 and had their first games on a dump of sand that had been levelled enough to play football on. In 1969, the club moved to a proper stadium, with a 5,000 capacity, and became a part of the elite clubs in the region.

AC Ajaccio have always played in the Corsican league systems and in their entire history, have won the league title 9-times. Known as one of the big-three on the island, in terms of football teams, AC Ajaccio won the title in 1920, 1921, 1934, 1939, 1948, 1950, 1955, 1964 and in 1994. It was only in 1965, though, that the team became a completely professional outfit.

In 1966-67, soon after turning professional, the club went on to win the Ligue 2 title in France, but that would be their only title for a while. Constantly dwelling in the second or third divisions of French football, AC Ajaccio have become a feeder club of sorts, for the top teams. Towards the end of the 1990s, AC Ajaccio went through a good period while playing in the third division. They first made the move into the second division by becoming the champions of the third division in 1997-98, and then went on to win the second division title in 2001-02.

However, AC Ajaccio continues to be a club that hangs around the lower end of the table, fighting to stay out of the relegation zone more than anything else. The club has, however, thrown up some interesting names in the past with the likes of Dominique Baratelli, Francois M’Pele, Dado Prso and Sebastian “Toto” Squillaci playing in their teams.

AC Ajaccio play their home games at the Stade Francois Coty, a 10,660 capacity arena that is named after a local businessman and politician.

Match Results

SC Bastia

SC Bastia won a game against AC Ajaccio (2 - 1) in the Ligue 1 -


Bordeaux played a game against AC Ajaccio that ended in a draw (1 - 1) Ligue 1 -


Marseille won a game against AC Ajaccio (3 - 1) in the Ligue 1 -


Toulouse played a game against AC Ajaccio that ended in a draw (2 - 2) Ligue 1 -

Latest Articles

Soccer article sidebar

French Ligue 1 2011-12 Season Preview

The 2011-12 French Ligue 1 season begins on Saturday August 6 so with less than a week to kick-off it’s time to analyse the contenders for the upcoming campaign Continue reading

Soccer article sidebar

Rest of Europe Transfers: 2011 Summer

It’s the time of the year when contracts expire and the transfer frenzy begins, so here’s what’s been happening around Europe and what the big clubs in the smaller leagues around the continent need to do before the window closes.FranceLilleSignings: Benoit Pedretti (AJ Auxerre – Undisclosed), Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv – Undisclosed), Ronny R... Continue reading

Soccer article sidebar

End-of-Season European Football Leagues Review

The 2010/11 European season is over with Barcelona defeated Manchester United 3-1 in the UEFA Champions League, while here’s a look at the various domestic leagues went around Europe.English Premier LeaguePosTeamPtsCManchester United802Chelsea713Manchester City714Arsenal685Tottenham6216Wigan42-2117Wolverhampton40-20RBirmingham City39-21RBlackpool39... Continue reading

Soccer article sidebar

Who Are The Champions, Promoted And Relegated Around Europe?

FC Barcelona clinched the Spanish La Liga title this week after their 1-1 draw with Levante gave them an unassailable lead at the top, but elsewhere who’s winning silverware, going down and coming up.Spanish La Liga (two games to play)Champions; FC BarcelonaCopa del Rey winners; Real Madrid 1-0 FC BarcelonaChampions League; FC Barcelona, Real Madri... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Champ That's 2 cevler by half and 2x2 clever 4 me. Thanks!

    about 8 years ago

Team Roster

Name Position
Gaël Andonian defender
Jonathan Monteiro Machado goalkeeper
Johan Cavalli midfielder
Mathieu Coutadeur midfielder
Benjamin Leroy goalkeeper
Jean-Baptiste Pierazzi midfielder
Johan Cavalli midfielder
Gaëtan Courtet forward
Jérémy Choplin defender
Samuel Bouhours defender

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post