Edmonton Eskimos

Country Canada Canada
City Edmonton
Founded 1949
Website www.esks.com

The Edmonton Eskimos> is a professional Canadian football team that belongs to Edmonton, Alberta. Currently, the team takes part in the West Division of the CFL. They are perhaps the most successful team of CFL in the modern era i.e. 1949 to present. The Eskimos have won the Grey Cup championship of the League thirteen times. These figures include a matchless five consecutive victories between 1978 and 1982 with the most recent win coming in 2005.

The achievements of the Eskimos have also been documented in the book entitled ‘Decade of Excellence’. The book also has photographs by Bob Peterson. The team has also enjoyed good attendance and fan following on the field as it leads the league. Former Eskimos players have prominently featured in the political like of Alberta. Provincial premiers Donald Getty and E. Peter Lougheed, former Edmonton mayor Bill Smith, and lieutenant-governor Norman Kwong have all played for the Edmonton Eskimos in the past.

Previously known as Esquimaux from 1897 to 1910, the Edmonton Eskimos was founded in 1949. The team plays its home matches at the Commonwealth Stadium. Before that they used to play host games at Clarke Stadium from 1954 until 1978. They have appeared in Grey Cup championship finals 22 times, out of which they have won the championship 13 times whereas they couldn’t defend the trophy nine times. They have also won Western Division championships twenty two times. Their main rivals are Stampeders and Montreal Alouettes. During the 2010 regular season, the team has seven victories and 11 losses.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Team Roster

Name Position
Shamit Shome Canada midfielder

Bet Play-Money for Fun