Worksop Town Football Club

Country England England
City Worksop
Founded 1861

Worksop Town Football Club is a semi professional English football club from Worksop in Nottinghamshire. This club plays in the Northern Premier League Premier Division and was founded in 1861. Nicknamed as ‘the Tigers’, the club plays their home matches in Cannon Park ground which has a capacity of 2,000 spectators.

For most of their early existence, the club played in the Midland League. During this period, two notable FA Cup were won. By 1907-08 season, they reached the first round proper and were drawn in their away match against Chelsea. Though they lost to 9-1, the game drew the attendance of 70,184, which is a club record that still stands today.

The Chairman of the club is Jason Clark with Martin McIntosh being the Manager of the club. Some of the notable former players of this club are Keith Alexander, Leo Bertos, Herbert Chapman, Dene Cropper, Peter Eustace, Alan Hodgkinson, Mark Platts, Bernard Shaw and many others. The present men squad of the Worksop Town Football Club is Adam Billard, Rob Austin, Luke Shiels, Scott Wharton, Chris Wood, Danny Bacon, Mark Camm and many others.

Major Achievements

With respect to the League, the club has so far won many awards and titles. In the Midland Football League, the team was the Champions in 1921-1922, 1965-1966 and in 1972-1973. They were the runners up team in 1962-1963, 1966-1967 and in 1973-1974.

With right to the Cup, the club won the Northern Premier League Chairman’s Cup in 2002 and the Northern Premier League President’s Cup in 1986 and in 1996.

Apart from these titles, the club was the proud winners of the Sheffield & Hallamshire Senior Cup in 1924, 1953, 1955, 1956, 1970, 1973, 1982, 1985, 1995, 1997 and lastly in 2003.

Bet Play-Money for Fun