The Wellington Phoenix FC> team is a professional association football club which is based in Wellington in New Zealand. Competing in the Football Federation of Australia A-League, the club was founded in 2007. Since its inception, the coach of the club has been Ricki Herbert, with the present captain being Andrew Durante. The Owner of this club is Terry Serepisos.

The club has played most of their home matches at the Westpac Stadium, which is also known as the ‘Ring of Fire’ by the fans. This stadium has a total capacity of 34,500 spectators and the field dimension is 235 meters North to South and 185 meters from West to East. This 130 million dollars stadium was built by the Fletcher Construction in 1999. In 2009-10 A-league season, the club played two home games away from their stadium. The first game was at FMG Stadium held in Palmerston North whereas the second game was at AMI Stadium held in Christchurch. With these two games, the club expanded their fan base in New Zealand.

Country New Zealand New Zealand
City Wellington
Founded 2007

Some of the current players of the Wellington Phoenix FC Club are Mark Paston, Tony Lochhead, Leo Bertos, Ben Sigmund and many more. The traditional colors of the Wellington city are yellow and black. The Phoenix fans wanted a kit that had yellow and black vertical stripes, though this format didn’t comply with the A-league template needed by Reebok when the team got admitted to the League. Rather, the players wore black strip with yellow and white trim for the first two seasons.

However, when Reebok lifted restrictions on the design of the kit in 2009, the team wore yellow and black vertical stripes. The badge of the team is a shield that depicts a rising phoenix. The present kit sponsors of the team are Sony, Revera and Export 33.

Major Achievements

The highest achievement so far of this club has been in 2010 at the A-League Preliminary final match. It was a historic moment for the team when won 20th April, 2010, the FFA granted the team a five year license extension, which will keep the team in the competition until the conclusion of the 2015-16 season.

Team Roster

Name Position
Scott Wootton England defender