Sporting Clube de Portugal

Sport Soccer
Country Portugal Portugal
Home town Lisboa
Founding year 1906
Leagues Portuguese Liga,
UEFA Champions League
Website www.sportin...

Sporting Clube de Portugal, popularly known as Sporting Lisbon, is a Portuguese football club based in the city of Lisbon. They currently feature in the Portuguese first division and are a Portuguese powerhouse, having won the Portuguese league a massive 18 times.

Sporting Lisbon were established on in 1902 as Sport Club de Belas by Jose Holtreman Roquette. His grandfather, Alfredo Augusto das Neves Holtreman, Viscount of Alvalade, was the first president of the club.

In 1904, the club was rechristened as Campo Grande Sporting Club and in 1906 finally embracd their current name Sporting Clube de Portugal, although in English they are colloquially known as Sporting Lisbon.

Sporting Lisbon have always been a powerhouse in Portugal and have also established themselves as a leading club in Europe, having won the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup in 1964.

Sporting Lisbon boast one of the best football academies of Europe and over the years have produced players such as Dano Carvalho, Ricardo Quaresma, Simao Sabrosa, Hugo Viana and Luis Miguel.

Sporting Lisbon play their home matches at the Estadio Jose Alvalade that has a capacity of 52,000. They bear the nickname Leones, which means the Lions.

Some of the major achievements of the club includes:-18 Portuguese first division titles-19 Portuguese Cup titles-7 Portuguese SuperCups-1 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup

Show more less

Match Results

PFCA Moscow

PFCA Moscow won a game against Sporting (3 - 1) in the UEFA Champions League -


Sporting won a game against PFCA Moscow (2 - 1) in the UEFA Champions League -


Chelsea won a game against Sporting (3 - 1) in the UEFA Champions League -


Sporting won a game against NK Maribor (3 - 1) in the UEFA Champions League -

Latest Articles

Braga vs. Sion: Europa League Betting Preview

Braga vs. Sion: Europa League Betting Preview

Braga established a valuable first leg lead in Switzerland versus Sion when the pair clashed in the Europa League second round last week and they can ease into the last 16 by following up on home soil.The Portuguese side continued their excellent run of form by edging their hosts 2-1 just six days ago and that result extended Braga’s unbeaten seque... Continue reading

Soccer article sidebar

Five Huge Football Matches This Weekend 30/3 - 1/4

This weekend isn’t your typical weekend full of big match-ups but there’s some key clashes as the title races around Europe heat up Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Gabriel I ve learned layaws pick up the best available player if you have room. I had 3 rb and they were all decent at the time and i had a chance to pick up deangelo williams by dropping my back up te and didn t. Now, Im kicking myself because i could have really used him. Was this answer helpful?

    almost 8 years ago

Soccer article sidebar

Europa League Final Preview - Porto v Braga

Portuguese pair FC Porto and Sporting Braga meet in Dublin in the final of the Europa League on Wednesday night with the Dragons going in as hot favourites Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Sebastián Coates Nión defender
Mauricio dos Santos Nascimento defender
Naldo Perreira defender
Jonathan Cristian Silva defender
Junya Tanaka forward
Luciano Vietto forward
Marcos Acuña midfielder
Mama Samba Baldé midfielder
Mahmoud Abdel Razek Fadlallah midfielder
Ronny Heberson Furtado de Araújo midfielder
João Mário Naval Costa Eduardo midfielder
Adrien Sebastian Perruchet Silva midfielder

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post