Bologna Football Club 1909 is an Italian football club based in city of Bologna. They currently feature in the Italian Serie A and have won the Italian League Championship seven times and are the sixth most successful club in the history of Italian football.


Country Italy Italy
City Bologna
Founded 1909
Ground Stadio Renato Dall'Ara
Nickname I Rossoblù
Captain Roberto Soriano
Coach Thiago Motta

The club was formed as AGC Bologna on October 3,1909 with Austrian Emilio Arnstein being the main architect. On March 1910 the club played its first ever match, which was against Virtus and which they won 9-1.

Bologna reached the semi-finals of the Northern Italian championship in the 1919-1920 season and became the champions of the Northern and National League for the first time in the 1924-1925 season. They again won the scudetto in 1928-1929 and won before World War II, won the scudetto four more times.

Bologna though lost their way after World War II but still won the scudetto in 1963-1964, their latest Italian triumph. In the 1980s and the 1990s, Bologna played Serie B and even Serie C1 football. But they have recovered somewhat and have featured in the UEFA Intertoto Cup and the UEFA Cup.


Bologna play their home matches at the Stadio Renato Dall’Ara in Bologna. The stadium can hold 38,279 people.


Bologna are nicknamed the Rossoblu (Red-Blues) and the Felsinei.


  • Serie A Winners (7): 1924–25, 1928–29, 1935–36, 1936–37, 1938–39, 1940–41, 1963–64
  • Serie B Winners (2): 1987–88, 1995–96
  • Serie C1 Winners : 1994–95
  • Coppa Italia Winners (2): 1969–70, 1973–74
  • UEFA Intertoto Cup Winners (1): 1998

Match Schedule