The Ghana National Football team> is known as the Black Stars, and is the national association football team of Ghana founded in 1957. The team is entirely controlled by the Ghana Football Association. Prior to gaining independence from Great Britain in 1957, the country used to play as the Gold Coast. The captain of this team is John Mensah, with Milovan Rajevac being the head coach of the team. Abedi Pele is the top scorer of this team with 33 goals and Richard Kingson made the most caps, of 82 appearances.

This team could not get qualified for the senior FIFA World Cup until 2006. However, on the bright side they got qualified for around 5 Olympic Games Football Tournaments, when the matches were still a full senior national team competition. Ghana won the Africa cup of Nations four times, in 1963, 1965, 1978 and in 1982 respectively. This made the team the second most successful team in the history of the contest behind Egypt when Ratomir Dujkovic was the coach of this team.

They were the runner ups for four times at the African cup of nations in 1968, 1979, 1990 and in 2010. The team won West African Nations cup five times, in 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986 and in 1987. Moreover, they received two Bronze medals in All-African games in 1978 and in 2003 respectively.

Country Ghana Ghana
City Accra
Founded 1957

Major Achievements

In 1992, the Ghana team was the first African country to have won a medal at football. The team even won the FIFA most improved team of the year award in 2006, when they reached the second round of the FIFA World Cup. The team was the third African team in history at the FIFA World Cup in South Africa in 2010 to have reached the quarter finals.