Rangers Football Club, commonly known as Rangers or Glasgow Rangers are a Scottish football club based in Glasgow. They are one of the two most successful clubs in Scottish football history and currently feature in the Scottish Premier League.

Rangers were founded in 1873 by brothers Moses and Peter McNeil, Peter Campbell and William McBeath and named the team after an English rugby club whom they had stumbled across in a book.

In the 1890-1891 season, Rangers were one of the ten original founders of the Scottish Football League and played their first ever league match on August 16,1890 against Heart of Midlothian. They jointly won the league that season with Dumbarton and won their first ever Scottish Cup in 1894.

Rangers then won nine league titles in a row between 1989 and 1997. Their last league title though was in 2005.

Rangers play their home matches at Ibrox that has a capacity of 51,082. They bear the nicknames the Gers, Teddy Bears and Light Blues.

Country Scotland Scotland
City Glasgow
Founded 1873
Ground Ibrox Park
Nickname The Gers
Coach Michael Beale

Ranger continued winning Scottish League titles at regular intervals since then. They did suffer a blue patch in 1971 when the Ibrox disaster struck in which 66 people were killed. But in 1972 Rangers won the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup, their first and so far only European silverware.

Ranger foster a massive rivalry with Celtic and play the Old Firm derby with them.

Some of the club’s major achievements include:-51 Scottish League Championships-1 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup-21 Scottish Cups-25 League Cups