Wits University Football Club, commonly known simply as Bidvest Wits, is a South African football club based in Johannesburg. They currently feature in the Premier Soccer League.

Bidvest Wits’ owe their origin to Wits University in Johannesburg and were established in 1921 by the univeristy’s Students Representatives Council. The club gained promotion to the South African National Football League in 1975.

Bidvest Wits won their first major title in 1978 when they won the Mainstay Cup and six years later won the BP Top 8 tournament. In 1985 they won the JPS Knockout Cup.

Bidvest Wits play their home matches at Bidvest Stadium that can accommodate 5,000 spectators. They bear the nicknames “The Clever Boys” and “The Students”.

Country South Africa South Africa
City Johannesburg
Founded 1921

Bidvest won the BP Top 8 and the Coca-Cola Cup in 1995.