Beitar Jerusalem FC is an Israeli football club based in Jerusalem. They currently feature in the Israeli Premier League and are one of the most followed clubs in Israel.

Beitar Jerusalem FC were established in 1936. They started life in the Bet (B) League in the 1950s and gained promoted to the A League in 1953 but suffered relegation to the second division that very same year.

Country Israel Israel
City Jerusalem
Founded 1936

Beitar Jersusalem won the A League in the 1967-1968 season. They won the State Cup for the first time ever in their history in 1976 and won the Cup again in 1979. In 1980, though, Jerusalem finished bottom of the National League and suffered relegation to the A League. But they soon returned to the top flight and finished second in the league in the 1983-1984 season.

In 1989 Beitar Jerusalem won the State Cup again but they were relegated to the second division at the end of the 1990-1991 season. But they soon came up and won the league in 1997 and 1998 and reached the State Cup final in 1999.

Beitar Jerusalem started to struggle for survival after the 1990s. But in August 2005 Russian-born billionaire Arkadi Gaydamak bought the club amidst controversial circumstances. But they soon established themselves as one of the biggest and financially strong clubs in Israel.

In the 2007-2008 season Beitar Jerusalem won the League and State Cup double.

Beitar Jerusalem play their home matches at the Teddy Stadium that can accommodate 21,600 spectators. They bear the nicknames “The Menorah”, “The Flag of the State” and “The Lions from the Capital”.