Drogheda United FC is a Republic of Ireland football club based in Drogheda. They currently feature in the FAI Premier Division.

Drogheda United FC were originally established in 1919 and played as a non-league club for all their history. In 1962 Drogheda FC were founded and elected to play in the League of Ireland in 1963.

In 1975 Drogheda FC and Drogheda United merged togetehr to form Drogheda United FC and in the 1975-1976 season finished sixth in the league and reached the FAI Cup final for the second time in their history. They finished second in the league in the 1982-1983 season and won the League Cup in 1983-1984.

However, in October 2008 Drogheda United FC went into examinership and in November 2008 wee deducted 10 points. They did manage to raise the necessary funds and managed to escape disbandment in January 2009.

Drogheda United play their home matches at United Park that can accommodate 5,400 spectators. They bear the nickname “The Drogs” and “The Boynesiders”.

Country Ireland Ireland
City Drogheda
Founded 1919

Soon Drogheda became a yo-yo club and managed to establish themselves as a Premier Division only only from the beginning of this decade. They won the FAI Cup for the first time in their history in 2005 and won the Setanta Cup in 2006 and 2007. They also won the League of Ireland in 2007.