Shamrock Rovers Football Club is a Republic of Ireland football club based in Dublin. They currently feature in the FAI Premier Division and have the League of Ireland title a record 15 times and the FAI Cup a record 24 times.

Shamrock Rovers are said to have established in 1901 in Ringsend, Dublin, although no official document exists as such pertaining to their establishment. They won the league in their very first attempt in the 1922-1923 season and by 1949 had become the most successful club of Ireland, having won 44 major trophies. They had won the league six times, the FAI Cup on six occasions and the League of Ireland Shields seven times.

In the 1960s Shamrock Rovers won the FAI Cup six times in a row and were one of the European sides that founded the United Soccer Association in the United States in the 1967 season. Rovers won the league four times in a row in the 1980s.

Shamrock Rovers play their home matches at the Tallaghat Stadium that can accommodate 3,500 spectators. They bear the nicknames “The Hoops” and “Rovers”.

Country Ireland Ireland
City Dublin
Founded 1901

Rovers won the league again in 1994 but soon they went into a period of decline and struggled for survival. They finished 7th in the league in the 2008 season.