Willem II

Country Netherlands Netherlands
Home town Tilburg
Founded 1896

Willem II is a Dutch football club based in Tilburg. They currently feature in the Dutch Eredivisie.

Willem II were established on August 12,1896 and were rechristened to their current name on January 12,1989 after Dutch king Willem II then had his military headquarters in tilburg during the Belgian uprising of 1830.

Willem II won their first Dutch Eredivisie in 1919 and had to wait until 1952 to win their second. Three years later they won the league and todate it remains their last league triumph. Willem II also won the KNVB Cup twice, in 1944 and 1963. They were voted Dutch Club of the Year thrice, in 1987,1990 and 1999. In 1999 Willem II also featured in the UEFA Champions League but were eliminated from the group stage.

Willem II play their home matches at the Willem II Stadion that can accommodate 14,637 spectators. They bear the nicknames “Red White Blue Army”, “King’s Army” and “Tricolores”.

Bet Play-Money for Fun

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post