FC Rubin Kazan is a Russian football club based in the Tatarstan republic of Kazan. They are reigning champions of Russia after they won the Russian Premier League in 2008.

FC Rubin Kazan were established in 1958 as Iskra and retained their name until 1964. They also adopted the name Rubin-TAN in 1992-1993.

FC Rubin never featured in the Soviet Top League and made their debut in the Russian Premier League in 2003. They finished third that year and qualified for the UEFA Cup. The following season saw them finish 10th and they ended up fourth the next season, once again qualifying for the UEFA Cup.

Country Russian Federation Russian Federation
City Kazan
Founded 1958

In 2008 FC Rubin won the Russian Premier League for the first time in their history and also created history by winning seven consecutive Russian Premier League matches at the start of 2008. Rubin Kazan shall now feature in the group stage of the UEFA Champions League in 2009-2010.