Club Atletico Penarol is a Uruguayan sports club from Montevideo founded in 1891. Named as Central Uruguay Railway Club at the time, the club was formed by British railway workers, from the Central Uruguay Railway company. There were 118 founding members which included 45 Uruguayans, 72 Brits and one German. Even at that time the club was popularly known as Penarol, as the Spanish speaking locals could not pronounce its given name.

It was only in 1892 that Penarol made its foray into football, and by 1900 had already bagged their first championship title. With three World championship titles, as well as five Copa Libertadores titles, Penarol is one of the more famous clubs in the country. Other records include being the first team to attain 10 goals in a match during the Uruguayan championship in 1903, when they won against Triumph 12-0, though this was later matched by Montevideo Wanderers in 1908.

Country Uruguay Uruguay
City Montevideo
Founded 1891

In 1913, when the CUR company dissolved, the club also faced many problems. The main issue was with the CUR company wanting to disassociate the club from the Penarol village as there had been incidents of violence, particularly from soccer fans. But in November the same year, the football section separated from CURCC and became an independent entity. They retained the name CURCC Penarol, and remained the only team to remain unbeaten for the longest period of time.

The team uses the Estadio Centenario, which is a state-owned stadium with a capacity of 76,609, though the team stadium is Jose Pedro Damiani, also known as The Acacias. This stadium has a capacity to seat 15,000 people. So far the team has won 36 First Division championship and also the South American Cup three times. Some popular former players include Diego Forlan, Armando Dely Valdes, Paolo Montero and Jose Luis Chilavert.