Universitario de Deportes (Lima)

Country Peru Peru
City Lima
Founded 1924

A Peruvian football club from Lima, Universitario de Deportes is popularly known as La U or Universitario by its fans. The most popular club in all of Peru, Universitario was founded by a group of professors and students from the National University of San Marcos, on the 7th of August in 1924. It was initially named Federacion Universitaria, but was renamed in 1931. Right from the start the club has proven its superiority with exceptional game play. Having firmly placed themselves in the topmost division, the First Peruvian Division or Primera Division Peruana, from 1928, Universitaria has 24 first division titles under its belt.

Estadio Monumental, the largest stadium in Peru, is also fittingly the host of the home games for the club, since 2000. It has a seating capacity of 80,093 and is also the third largest stadium in all of South America. The Superclasico Peruano, or Peruvian Super Classic is a derby which includes Universitaria and Alianza Lima, and has been a tradition since 1928. Apart from this, Universitaria is also the first club in Peru to reach the Copa Libertadores finals. The first championship title win, was in 1929, a year after they joined the top league and their last win, in 2000 was a Tri-Championship title.

The club’s first stadium was Estadio Teodoro Lolo Fernandez, with a seating capacity of 15,000 and another stadium they frequently used before their current switch was Estadio Nacional. Some of the more prominent former players in the club include Eduardo Esidio, Ruben Techera, Jose Carvallo and Hector Hurtado.

Bet Play-Money for Fun