Real Betis Balompie are a Spanish football club located in the city of Seville in the Andalucian region of Spain. They are passionately supported. They are also the only Spanish club to have won the first, second and third division titles.


Betis were founded on September 12, 1907 as Sevilla Balompie which later merged with Betis FC founded two years earlier 1914. Betis are considered as traditionally the biggest club in Andalucia although in recent seasons their arch city rivals Sevilla FC have overtaken hem

Real Betis are regarded to have one of the best youth academies in Spain, a system that has sprouted the likes of Joaquin in recent seasons.


Betis play their home matches in the Manuel Ruiz de Lopera stadium which can hold a maximum of 52,700 people.


Betis bear the nickname Verdiblancos, which translates in English to the green-whites.


The club’s major achievements include:

  • La Liga Winners (1): 1934–35
  • Segunda Division Winners (7): 1931–32, 1941–42, 1957–58, 1970–71, 1973–74, 2010–11, 2014–15
  • Tercera Division Winners (1): 1953–54
  • Copa del Rey Winners (3): 1976–77, 2004–05, 2021–22
Country Spain Spain
City Sevilla
Founded 1907
Ground Estadio Benito Villamarín
Nickname Los Verdiblancos
Captain Joaquin Sanchez
Coach Manuel Pellegrini

Real Betis were the first Anadalucain club to win La Liga when they won the first division title way back in 1935. They also became the first team from Andalucia to play in the UEFA Champions League (in the 2005-2006 season) although Sevilla FC had earlier participated in the old format of the same competition known as the European Cup. Betis have also won the Copa del Rey on three occasions.