Club Centro Deportivo Municipal

Country Peru Peru
City Lima
Founded 1935

Founded in 1934, Club Centro Deportivo Municipal are a Peruvian football team based out of the Lima, the capital of the country. The team was established after three directors of the city’s municipality decided to start a football team to represent the city. One of the older teams in the country, Deportivo Municipal has a major rivalry with Universitario de Deportes.

Deportivo Municipal had to win a promotional tournament in 1935 to be eligible for the 1936 Primera Division Peruana. Within two years of getting there, they had a championship medal to their name. The club has seen many ups & downs and their first relegation experience came in 1967. In two years, they were back up again, till 2000. In 2000, Deportivo Municipal finished bottom of the table and were sent down to the Second Division again, where they stayed till 2006. In 2006, they won the league to come back up to the top however, their season was marred by financial and football problems, leading to a straight relegation.

In the first division, Deportivo Municipal have won 4 titles while finishing second 8 times.

Deportivo Municipal have played at the Estadio Municipal de Chorrillos. The stadium seats 13,000 spectators and is known as the “Field of the Dead”. When playing in the Primera Division, the team has to shift to the Estadio Nacional, the Estadio Miguel Grau or the Estadio San Martin de Porres, which conform to the standards required at the top division.

Hugo Sotil, Nolberto Solano, Franco Navarro and Jefferson Farfan are some of the big names to have come out of the club and played in other countries as well.

Team Roster

Name Position
Roberto Ovelar Paraguay forward

Bet Play-Money for Fun