1. FC Koln is a German football club based in the city of Colone in North Rhine-Westphalia. They currently feature in the German Bundesliga.

FC Koln were established in 1948 after Kolner Ballspiel-Club 1901 and SpVgg Sulz 07 were merged together. But their history stretched back as far as June 6,1901 when a group of young men formed Kolner BC as an exclusive football club. The club was a competitive one before World War I broke out.

Koln commenced playing in the Oberlia West in the 1949-1950 season and in 1954 won their first divisional championship. That year they also reached the final of the German Cup, losing 1-0 to VFB Stuttgart.

Country Germany Germany
City Köln
Founded 1948
Ground Müngersdorfer Stadion
Nickname The Billy Goats
Coach Markus Gisdol
Website www.fc-koeln.de

In 1960 they won their second divisional championship. They went onto become the first German Bundesliga champions when they won the title in the inaugural season of 1963-1964. They reached the quarter-finals of the European Cup in 1965.

In the initial years in the German Bundesliga Koln were the most successful club in West Germany in terms of total points won. But at the start of the 1990s, Koln started to decline and have been moving between the first and the second division in Germany.

At the end of the 2004-2005 season they returned to the German Bundesliga and were relegated after just one season. But in 2008 they climbed back the steps and won promotion to the Bundesliga.

FC Koln play their home matches at the RheinEnergieStadion that can hold 50,374 spectators. They bear the nickname The Billy Goats.

The famoust players are:Klaus Fischer 1981–1984Thomas „Icke“ Häßler 07/1984 – 06/1990Bodo Illgner 07/1985 – 08/1996Jürgen Kohler 1987–1989Pierre „Litti“ Littbarski 07/1978 – 06/1986 and 07/1987 – 06/1993Wolfgang Overath 07/1963 – 06/1977 (Präsident 2004–heute)Lukas „Poldi“ Podolski # 11/2003 – 06/2006 and since 07/2009Harald „Toni“ Schumacher 07/1972 – 06/1987

The mascot is a real Billy Goat named Hennes:1950 – 1966: Hennes I.1966 – 1970: Hennes II.1970 – 1975: Hennes III.1975 – 1982: Hennes IV.1982 – 1989: Hennes V.1989 – 1996: Hennes VI.1996 – 2008: Hennes VII.since 2008: Hennes VIII.

FC Koln’s main rivals are Bayer Leverkusen, Borussia Moenchengladbach Fortuna Dusseldorf and Alemannia Aachen.

Match Schedule