Getafe Club de Futbol is a modest Spanish club located in the city of Getafe in the metropolitan area of south Madrid. Founded only on February 24,1946 by five Getafe locals, Enrique Condes García, Aurelio Miranda Olavaria, Antonio Corredor Lozano, Manuel Serrano Vergara and Miguel Cubero Francés, the club was originally christened Club Getafe Deportivo. Due to financial mess, they got liquidated at the end of the 1981-1982 season.

But Getafe CF ultimately saw the light of the day when Club Deportivo Peña Getafe merged with Club Getafe Promesas in 1982 and Getafe Club de Fútbol (Getafe C.F.) was officially founded on the July 8,1983 after passing through the General Partners Assembly. They made their first appearnce in La Liga only in the 2004-2005 season but have since consolidated their position in the Spanish top flight.

Country Spain Spain
City Getafe (Madrid)
Founded 1983
Ground Coliseum Alfonso Pérez
Coach José Bordalás

The club reached a new peak in the 2005-2006 season as they finished in a respectable 9th position in the league. The next season under coach Bernd Schuster, Getafe fnished 9th once again and also reached the final of the Copa del Rey.

In the 2007-2008 season under new coach Michael Laudrup, Getafe reached the final of the Copa del Rey once again but are hanging dangerously just above the relegation zone in La Liga despite playing attacking, attractive football. Getafe also shocked many by climbing to the quarter-finals of the UEFA Cup in 2007-2008.

Getafe play their home matches at the Coliseum Alfonso Pérez, which was inaugurated on the January 1, 1998 and is named after the famous footballer Alfonso Pérez. The stadium has a capacity of 16,300. Getafe are nicknamed Azulones (The Dark Blues)[/B][/I] and [I][B]El Geta. Their supporters are known as Marea Azul, or Getafeños

Match Schedule