Based in Quito, Ecuador, Sociedad Deportivo Quito was founded in 1940, and currently plays in the top division, or Primera A of the Ecuadorian football league. With two league championships under their belt, in 1964 and 1968, the club has a further four Interandean Tournament title wins in 1955-57 and 1963, and were runners-up in 1985, 1988 and 1997.With Liga Deportiva Universiaria de Quito as main rivals, others include Club Deportivo El Nacional and Sociedad Deportiva Aucas. Known as ‘La Academia de los Ecuatorianos desde 1940’ by fans as well as sports journalists, the club earned this name due its playing style.

During the time of its foundation, the club was named Argentina, which collaborated with two other clubs Sociedad Deportiva Aucas and Sociedad Deportiva Espana to form the Asociacion de Futbol No Amatur de Pichincha, in 1954. Later this had to be changed as the AFNA bylaws state that not team can be named after a country, and then the team got its current name Sociedad Deportivo Quito.

Country Ecuador Ecuador
City Quito
Founded 1940

The following years were some of the most successful for the club, bagging most of its title wins during the 1950s and 1960s. But their winning stint ended in the 1970s, when due to disappointing performance the team was relegated to Primera B. In 1980 they won the Primera B championship and were runner-up in 1972, 1974, 1976 and 1977.

The club managed to regain some of its lost form and went on to become runner-up in 1985, 1988 and 1997, and even qualified for the Copa Libertadores.