Real Zaragoza are a Spanish club currently playing in La Liga. Zaragoza are also termed as Real Saragossa and are based in the Aragon city of Zaragoza. They have never won the Spanish league title but did finish runners-up in the 1974-1975 season and have played the majority of their history in La Liga. They bear the nicknames Manos and Blanquillos.

Zaragoza were originally formed by the mergence of two rival teams Iberia SC and Real Zaragoza CD on March 18, 1932. But they had to wait until the early 1960s to taste some success on the pitch when they won their first Copa del Rey and Inter-Cities Fairs Cup (now known as the UEFA Cup).

Country Spain Spain
City Zaragoza
Founded 1932

Real Zaragoza play their home matches at the 34,596 capacity La Romarede. Previously the Torrero used to be their home ground but the club moved to the Romarede in the year 1957.

In late May 2006 Agapito Iglesias bought Alfonso Solans’ shares and took the control of Real Zaragoza and led Zaragoa to within inches of UEFA Champions League qualification last season. Zaragoza are fighting relegation in the 2007-2008 season though. They are currently being coached by Manolo Villanova and chaired by Eduardo Bandres.

The club’s major achievements include:

  • 6 Copa del Rey (Spanish Cup)
  • 1 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup (now the UEFA Cup)
  • 1 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup