Based out of the city of Talcahuano is the Deportivo Huachipato football club. Founded in 1947, the team plays at the Las Higueras stadium, a 10,000 seater arena. Huachipato have a tremendous rivalry against Deportes Concepcion and Universidad de Concepcion, two teams from their region.

Success has come in stops and starts at the club where Huachipato were crowned champions of the second division in 1966 and of the Primera division in 1974. The team has had one opportunity to participate in the Copa Libertadores but their 1975 campaign ended in round 1. Their only ever Copa Sudamericana campaign from 2006 has a similar end to the story. Luis Chavarria, Cristian Munoz and Pablo Caballero are some of the famous names to have turned out for the team.

Country Chile Chile
City Talcahuano
Founded 1947