Sevilla FC

Country Spain Spain
Home town Sevilla
Founded 1905
La Liga
UEFA Champions League

Sevilla Futbol Club are one of the biggest clubs in the Spanish region of Andalucia. They are a Spanish club currently playing in La Liga and based in the city of Seville. They are oldest club from Seville and the second oldest in Andalucia.

On October 15, 1905, the Civil Governor of Seville officially announced the establishment of Sevilla FC and the club began collecting silverware soon. They won their first and so far only La Liga title in the 1945-1946 season.

But it wouldn’ be until the 2000s again that Sevilla could foster dreams of title triumph. Sevilla won the 2005-2006 UEFA Cup and successfully defended their trophy the next year. In the 2007-2008 season Sevilla played in the UEFA Champions League and reached the last 16 of the competition.

Sevilla also won the UEFA Super Cup in 2006 by beating the then UEFA Champions League winners FC Barcelona 3-0 in Monaco. They beat Getafe 1-0 in the final in the 2007 Copa del Rey.

Sevilla play their home matches at the 45,500 capacity Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan and bear the nicknames Rojiblancos (Red-Whites). They foster massive rivalry with their Seville city mates Real Betis and this cross-town rivalry has the reputation of being one of the most violent derbies in the whole of Europe.

The club’s major achievements include:

  • 1 La Liga
  • 4 Copa del Rey (Spanish Cup)
  • 1 Spanish Super Cup
  • 2 UEFA Cup
  • 1 UEFA Super Cup

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
Terrible tragedy 1