Aberdeen Football Club is a Scottish football club based in Aberdeen. They currently feature in the Scottish Premier League. They are one of the most successful clubs in Scottish football history, having won four league titles and seven Scottish Cups. Aberdeen are also the only Scottish team to have won two European trophies in the same year.

Aberdeen were established in 1903 after the merger of the three clubs Aberdeen, Victoria United and Orion. They played their first ever match on August 15,1903 against Stenhousemuir in a match that finished 1-1. They won the Aberdeenshire Cup in their first season and were elected to the Second Division of the Scottish league the following season.

Aberdeen were elected to the new, expanded First Division in 1905 and have since featured in the Scottish top flight, a record shared by Old Firm clubs Celtic and Rangers. They started making progress from 1906 onwards and reached the semi-finals of the Scottish Cup in 1908 and 1911.

Country Scotland Scotland
City Aberdeen
Founded 1903
Website afc.co.uk

Aberdeen were affected by World War I and dropped out of competitive football in 1917 but returned in August 1919. After World War II, the club established themselves firmly in Scottish football. They won the Scottish Cup in 1947 to win their first major trophy.

Aberdeen reached the finals of the Scottish Cup in 1953 and then 1954 and won their first ever Scottish League title in 1954-1955. Aberdeen won the League Cup in the 1955-1956 season and reached the final of the Scottish Cup in 1959.

Aberdeen featured in Europe in 1967-1968 for the first time in their history, playing in the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup that season.

(Sir) Alex ferguson became the manager of Aberdeen in 1978 and under the Scotsman Aberdeen won three league championships, four Scottish Cups, the European Super Cup and a League Cup in just seven years.

Since Ferguson’s departure hit Aberdeen hard as they have not been able to repeat the success of those years. They won the Scottish League Cup in 1995-1996.

Aberdeen play their home matches at the Pittodrie Stadium that can accomodate 22,199 spectators. They bear the nicknames “The Dons”, “The Reds” and “The Dandies”.