Hamburger SV is a German multi sport club based in the German city of Hamburg. The largest branch of this unit is the football department. Their footbal club is called SV Hamburg and current features in the German Bundesliga.

SV Hamburg is one of Germany’s oldest and most well known football clubs and have been playing in the German top flight since the end of World War I. the club was established on September 29, 1887 after the merger of football clubs Der Hohenfelder Sportclub and Wandsbek-Marienthaler Sportclub to form Sportclub Germania zu Hamburg. The current football club was formed in 1919 as Hamburger Sport-Verein after three city clubs were merged.

Country Germany Germany
City Hamburg
Founded 1887

The club soon bean to win trophies and won the national title in 1923 and won it again in 1928. They won the Gauliga Hamburg in 1937, 1938, 1939, 1941 and 1945.

HSV were one of the 16 clubs invited to participate in the first ever season of the German Bundesliga and won their first Bundesliga title in 1979 and again in 1982 and 1983. In recent seasons, Hamburg have been among the top eight clubs in Germany and greater things are expected of them in the coming years. Hamburg’s three Bundesliga championships entitle the club to display one gold star of the “Verdiente Meistervereine”.

SA Hamburg play their home matces at the 57,274 seater HSH Nordbank Arena. Hamburg bear several nicknames which are as follows:Rothosen (“Red Shorts”)HSVHanseatenUrgestein (Primary Rocks)Bundesliga-Dino (The Dinosaur)

Some achievements:

German Champions: 1922 (not officially awarded), 1923, 1928, 1960, 1979, 1982, 1983German Cup: 1963, 1976, 1987German League Cup: 1973, 2003European Champions Cup: 1983European Cup Winners’ Cup: 1977UEFA Intertoto Cup: 2005, 2007Emirates Cup: 2008