Levski Sofia

Country Bulgaria Bulgaria
City Sofia
Founded 1914

PFC Levski Sofia is a Bulgarian football club based in Sofia. They currently feature in the Bulgarian first division and are one of the biggest clubs of Bulgaria. Levski are the only club never to have been relegated from the Bulgarian first division.

Levski Sofia were established on May 24,1914 although they originated in 1911 when a group of students founded the Sport Club Levski. But the club lost its first official match against FC 13 Sofia in 1914.

Levski Sofia played in the first Bulgariannatinal championships in 1924 and won the title in1933, 1937 and 1942. After the World War II, Levski firmly established themselves as the top two clubs in the nation. They played in the European Cup in 1965 too.

In 1969 Levski Sofia were merged with Spartak Sofia and were rechristened as Levski-Spartak. In 1985 they were again renamed as Vitosha and it was only the after the fall of Communism in the nation that they restored their original name to Sofia. They then continued winning Bulgarian national championships and in 2006 became the first Bulgarian team to qualify for the group stages of the UEFA Champions League.

Levski Sofia had already reached the quarter-finals of the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup on three occasions and the UEFA Cup quarter-finals twice.

Levski Sofia play their home matches at the Georgi Asparuhov Stadium that can accommodate 29,980 spectators. They bear the nickname the Blues and the Blue Avalanche.

Some of the club’s major achievements include:-25 Bulgarian first division titles-26 National Cups

Team Roster

Name Position
Nikolay Mihaylov Bulgaria goalkeeper
Georgi Milanov Bulgaria midfielder
Ivelin Popov Bulgaria midfielder
Filip Yavorov Krastev Bulgaria midfielder

Bet Play-Money for Fun