AEK Athens FC is a Greek football club based in the city of Athens. They are one of the biggest clubs of Greece and currently feature in the Greek first divisions. AEK have won 28 national titles and played several times in the UEFA Champions League as well as in the UEFA Cup.

AEK Athens were established on April 13,1924 by Greek refugees from Istanbul after the Greco-Turkish War. The club’s first president was Konstantinos Spanoudis, who was a journalist and associate of the then Greek Prime Minister Eleftherios Venizelos.

AEK Athens won their first Greek Cup title in 1932 and started collecting silverware, mainly Cups. They also reached the semi-finals of the UEFA Cup in the 1976-1977 season and in the 1994-1995 season became the first Greek Club to feature in the UEFA Champions League group stage and also reached the quarter-finals of the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup in 1996-1997 and 1997-1998.

Some of the club’s major achievements include:-13 Greek League titles-13 Greek Cups-1 Greek League Cup-2 Greek Super Cup

Country Greece Greece
City Athens
Founded 1924

AEK Athens play their home matches at the Olympic Stadium that can host 71,030 spectators. They bear the nicknames the Union, Double-Headed Eagle and the Yellow-Blacks.